Enamelling Copper

Following my theme of the little mermaid in my main project, I drew and cut out several sea-related images on a small piece of copper, and shaped them using a hammer and rounded shapes, heating them every so often to relax them more, so they were easier to bend.

Then, once satisfied with the shapes, I enamelled them in different colours. The mermaid tail was a blue green and the fish was orange, for example. With the mermaid tail, I intended from the start to make it wearable, so I punched a small hole in the top corner for a chain to go through.

Usually I’m not too fond of this kind of jewellery, partly because it comes across a little too sophisticated for my tastes, but I would make something fun and quirky like this again.

Leave a Reply

