BBC Stool Project

As my subject brief, I had the choice between either making a medal or stool, both for a competition outside of university. I chose to pursue the stool project, as I don’t have much of an interest in bronze casting, the main material that the medal should be made out of, and furniture building is a very practical skill to know.

I have to design and create a stool which is practical, durable, easy to store and matches with the style of the company manufacturing the seats: NaughtOne.

The brief itself is very narrow, and specific, which I am not too pleased with. It’s very obvious the kind of thing they want, which makes me wonder why they commissioned art students to create something for them, as our goal is to be innovative. We have largely elected to pick a few of the keywords from the brief and work around those, rather than trying to obey every single thing they are asking from us.

 

Leave a Reply

