Tord Boontje

Studio Tord Boontje has been a designer that I have loved for a long time, so I was very pleased to find his book in the library. His floral, fantasy-like works for his textiles are gorgeous and intricate, and may partly have sparked my interest with laser cut designs. I love the business and movement in this series of vases entitled ‘Thinking of You: Here – Now – Forever‘, with their sweeping, swirling branches, and layers of finely detailed patterns. I also really appreciate the reflective quality of the metal, as they take on some of the beauty of their surroundings.

The way that there are cut out parts and other sections peeling away interests me as a maker; I would like to try out a similar idea with acrylic, using thermoforming to hopefully achieve a similar kind of result.

pot-1pot-2pot-3

Leave a Reply

