Sandblasted Components

After sandblasting some attachment pieces, and fixing them into place, I was quite surprised just how much I liked the way they look, especially on the clear one. The matte finish gives another layer to the texture, and the partially cut flowers cast a shadow onto the semi opaque perspex, which I really like. I would like to create a separate light shade with this concept as the main focus, maybe using the imagery of the shadows of leaves on the ground.

I also find that this combination of shade and petal shape is attractive, as both of them are rounded, and both flick up.

IMG_20170601_153345_083

I tried out the larger attachment pieces, but I found that it looks best with the spiky, smaller ones rather than the larger one, which overshadow the iridescent quality of the material, and I prefer it with an embellished attachment to having a plain one.

Leave a Reply

